Pro receiving penalty for NOT taking a mulligan is the weirdest rules controversy of 2019.
During the final round of the SAS Championship, Jesper Parnevik missed a short bogey putt that horseshoed around the hole and ultimately hit his foot. From there, Parnevik tapped in what remained for his double.
Only to find out that he really carded a triple.
That's because Parnevik was entitled to replay the original bogey putt under Rule 11.1.b, Exception 2.
When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated). However, because Parnevik failed to do so, he incurred a penalty.
The situation was so rare, according to rules official Brian Claar, that the USGA couldn't recall the incident happening in a professional tournament.