Rule 23.8 When Penalty Applies to One Partner Only or Applies to Both Partners
When a player gets a penalty for breach of a Rule, the penalty may apply either to that player alone or to both partners (that is, the side). This depends on the penalty and the form of play.
Rule 23.8a (1) Penalty Normally Applies Only to Player, Not Partner.
When a player gets a penalty other than disqualification, that penalty normally only applies to the player and not also to his or her partner. Note: There are three situations where a player's penalty also applies to their partner; including when player's breach helps their partner's play or harms their opponent's play. See Rule 23.8a (2) for more details.
Did you know...In 4BBB match play a side may be represented by one partner for all or any part of the match. All partners need not be present. An absent partner may join a match between holes, but not during play of a hole.
Frank Webb, Captain.